Save

Save

Paula Wynne's picture
Paula Wynne

Pinned 10 months 1 week ago onto Book Giveaways

Win A Copy of Flying Without Wings - A World War II Thriller

Source: https://paulawynne.com/win-flying-without-wings

Win a copy of a heartbreaking  World War II story, Flying Without Wings.

Flying Without Wings

In 1945, after overhearing the evil Kommandant of Terezín Concentration Camp talk about a secret horde of stolen treasure, young prisoner Johan Falkner swears revenge on the fleeing Nazis who have robbed him of so much: his people’s faith, the lives of his sister and father, and his treasured red toy aeroplane.

Forty years later, a hidden war shelter is found underneath an English airfield. In a nearby Berkshire village, Matt Buttrick is still trying to come to terms with the injury that has ruined his life-long dream to be an RAF fighter pilot. When a stranger starts snooping around his local airfield, asking questions about a local pilot, Matt learns of a missing Nazi war criminal living in the area.

As he starts to unearth the secrets that have been hidden away in this sleepy part of rural England for so many years he must make a momentous decision: should he save the man he holds responsible for his father’s death?

Even as he struggles with this choice, Matt finds himself being brought closer to more than just shadows of the past as he learns of a map showing the location of a vast store of riches taken from Jewish prisoners and left in a hidden fortress in 1945 for the inheritors of the Third Reich.

Such secrets are dangerous though, because other people are also searching for this map, and they will stop at nothing to get it. 

The question both Johan and Matt must ultimately answer is the same: even without wings, is it possible to fly through life’s journey of hopes, dreams and tragedies?

Share The Luv: 
5
Average: 5
Log in to vote
Comments
Buzzybee23's picture
Buzzybee23
Looks like a good true read,
Pat M's picture
Pat M
Interesting concept.
Neesie315's picture
Neesie315
Looks great!
willowcat's picture
willowcat
This looks a great read.
Lorelei's picture
Lorelei
Sounds like this could be an interesting and intriguing read
Donna Heller's picture
Donna Heller
Win or lose with this giveaway, I will read the book~
Starwell's picture
Starwell
Love reading about the 2nd world war
HowDeDu's picture
HowDeDu
Very interesting story. I can't wait to read it.
nevans72's picture
nevans72
I would love to read this book. I’m a huge fan of anything WWII or Holocaust related and have many books that I’ve read about that time period.
Niallo's picture
Niallo
Treasure hunting... excellent
Guy Adamson's picture
Guy Adamson
This appears to be an excellent book with a very interesting theme. I look forward to reading it!
nuj's picture
nuj
Sounds super - would love to win!
JS06's picture
JS06
Intrigue and mystery!
desiitheblonde's picture
desiitheblonde
love millatry type of books and the cover is great
desiree (not verified)
that look like great book
Sonya Smothers (not verified)
This was an interesting, historical story that kept me guessing and wanting to keep reading!
Leave your comment below
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Pinned onto the category

Book Giveaways

Hannibal Lecter GiveawayA Historical Conspiracy Thriller For fans of Psychological ThrillersReaders Book Review ClubWin A Copy Of Elizabeth of BohemiaHistorical Mystery Thrillers for fans of Dan Brown and Kate MosseCreate A Character CompetitionElixa - Prequel To The Luna LegacyBig Book Giveaways
Avatar Giveaway
Originally pinned by

Paula Wynne

Win A Copy Of Elizabeth of Bohemia
Journey of the Maple Young Adult Fantasy
Win A Personalised Goes to Sleep Book
The Soldier's Bride Romantic Novel Giveaway
The Dead Ex Review Giveaway
Pinned onto the board

Book Giveaways

The Power of Six Sci-Fi Giveaway
Three Are One Romance Giveaway
Fragmented A Serial Killer Thriller Giveaway
Win A Summer Book Bundle
Firstborn Fantasy Novel Giveaway

4 Likes

Acsanford's picture
yellowcanary's picture
Buzzybee23's picture
Ramzweb's picture
Scroll to top