Save

Save

Paula Wynne's picture
Paula Wynne

Pinned 11 months 1 week ago onto Book Giveaways

Win A Copy Of Elizabeth of Bohemia

We are giving away 5 paperback copies of Elizabeth of Bohemia, a sweeping, cinematic novel about the life of the Winter Queen, Elizabeth Stuart.

October 1612. King James I is looking to expand England's influence in Europe, especially among the Protestants. He invites Prince Frederic of the Palatinate to London and offers him his 16-year-old daughter Elizabeth's hand in marriage. The fierce and intelligent Elizabeth moves to Heidelberg Castle, Frederic's ancestral home, where she is favored with whatever she desires, and the couple begins their family. Amid much turmoil, the Hapsburg emperor is weakened, and with help from Bohemian rebels, Frederic takes over royal duties in Prague. Thus, Elizabeth becomes the Queen of Bohemia. But their reign is brief. Within the year, Catholic Europe unites to take back the Hapsburg throne. Defeated at the Battle of White Mountain, Frederic, Elizabeth, and their children are forced into exile for a much-reduced life in The Hague. Despite tumultuous seasons of separation and heartache, the Winter Queen makes every effort to keep her family intact.

Written with cinematic flair, this historical novel brings in key figures such as Shakespeare and Descartes as it recreates the drama and intrigue of 17th-century England and the Continent. Elizabeth's children included Rupert of the Rhine and Sophia of Hanover, from whom the Hanoverian line descended to the present Queen Elizabeth II.

If you liked reading Three Sisters, Three Queens; The Other Boleyn Girl; Victoria and any books by Philippa Gregory and Daisy Goodwin, then Elizabeth of Bohemia is a must read!

 

 

 

Share The Luv: 
4
Average: 4
Log in to vote
Pinned onto the category

Book Giveaways

Elixa - Prequel To The Luna LegacyWin Amazon Voucher By Following Us On Twitter Create A Character CompetitionThe Sacred Symbol Historical Mystery ThrillerWin A Copy of Flying Without Wings - A World War II ThrillerAvatar GiveawayYour Cat In A BookThe Luna Legacy - Free ChaptersWin Amazon Vouchers
World War II Authors to Follow
Originally pinned by

Paula Wynne

Daisy Jones and the Six Signed Paperback Book Giveaway
Your Cat In A Book
Freebies Package For Authors
Elixa - Prequel To The Luna Legacy
Harry Potter Giveaway For Authors
The Fallen Star Book Giveaway
Pinned onto the board

Book Giveaways

Win Breath by Tim Winton and Picador Books in our Christmas Reading Giveaway.
Win A Copy of Cook it Slowly!
What Lies Within Book Giveaway
Historical Mystery Thrillers for fans of Dan Brown and Kate Mosse
The Confession Book Giveaway
Love Historical Mystery?

2 Likes

lbrow357's picture
Andrea Stoeckel's picture

Welcome to our Book Review Club

Readers are welcome to read any of these books in exchange for a short review. Please log in to download your chosen review copies.

Scroll to top