Save

Save

Paula Wynne's picture
Paula Wynne

Pinned 2 years 2 months ago onto Book Giveaways

Win A Copy Of Elizabeth of Bohemia

We are giving away 5 paperback copies of Elizabeth of Bohemia, a sweeping, cinematic novel about the life of the Winter Queen, Elizabeth Stuart.

October 1612. King James I is looking to expand England's influence in Europe, especially among the Protestants. He invites Prince Frederic of the Palatinate to London and offers him his 16-year-old daughter Elizabeth's hand in marriage. The fierce and intelligent Elizabeth moves to Heidelberg Castle, Frederic's ancestral home, where she is favored with whatever she desires, and the couple begins their family. Amid much turmoil, the Hapsburg emperor is weakened, and with help from Bohemian rebels, Frederic takes over royal duties in Prague. Thus, Elizabeth becomes the Queen of Bohemia. But their reign is brief. Within the year, Catholic Europe unites to take back the Hapsburg throne. Defeated at the Battle of White Mountain, Frederic, Elizabeth, and their children are forced into exile for a much-reduced life in The Hague. Despite tumultuous seasons of separation and heartache, the Winter Queen makes every effort to keep her family intact.

Written with cinematic flair, this historical novel brings in key figures such as Shakespeare and Descartes as it recreates the drama and intrigue of 17th-century England and the Continent. Elizabeth's children included Rupert of the Rhine and Sophia of Hanover, from whom the Hanoverian line descended to the present Queen Elizabeth II.

If you liked reading Three Sisters, Three Queens; The Other Boleyn Girl; Victoria and any books by Philippa Gregory and Daisy Goodwin, then Elizabeth of Bohemia is a must read!

 

 

 

Share The Luv: 
4
Average: 4
Log in to vote
Pinned onto the category

Book Giveaways

The Luna Legacy - Free ChaptersPsychological Thriller Authors To FollowBook Luver 2021 Summer Review Book GiveawayAvatar GiveawayWin A Copy Of Elizabeth of BohemiaThe Torcal Trilogy Full BoxsetFollow Us On Twitter To Win Amazon VouchersWin Amazon Voucher By Following Us On Twitter Elixa - Prequel To The Luna LegacyWorld War II Authors to FollowHistorical Mystery Thrillers for fans of Dan Brown and Kate Mosse
Create A Character Competition
Originally pinned by

Paula Wynne

Christmas Readers Book Giveaway Hamper
A Secret Is Deadly in the Wrong Hands
The Grotto's Secret - Scariest Villain Since Hannibal Lecter
The Rural and Urban Settings Thesaurus
The Soldier's Bride Romantic Novel Giveaway
Breathing Life Into Your Characters
Pinned onto the board

Book Giveaways

Win A Copy of Unscripted
Dream Eater Urban Fantasy Book Giveaway
Win a Kindle Fire for Christmas
The Secret Lives of Superhero Wives Book Giveaway
If The Bed Falls In Conspiracy Thriller Giveaway
Armour Piercing Book Giveaway

2 Likes

lbrow357's picture
Andrea Stoeckel's picture
Scroll to top